

2023 Women's Council National Governing Board Minutes Midyear Meeting May 11, 2023, 3:00 – 4:30pm Renaissance Downtown, Washington DC

Disclaimer: Minutes approved by First Vice President Tammy Noll-Adams and the leadership team, signatures are omitted for privacy purposes. Minutes are posted online immediately following approval.

Chair: 2023 National President, Chris Pelkola Lee (ID)

The meeting was called to order at 3:00pm
President Chris Pelkola Lee welcomed everyone and introduced the head table.

Pledge of Allegiance - Allegra House (NJ)

Inspiration - Antigone Twidt (ID)

Fiduciary Responsibility - President Chris Pelkola Lee reminded the Governing Board of their fiduciary responsibility to Women's Council.

Quorum - There were 58 Governing Board members signed in, a quorum was present.

Ground Rules - There being no objection, the meeting ground rules were approved.

Minutes - First Vice President Tammy Noll-Adams reported that the November 9, 2022 minutes were approved as written and March 22, 2023 special meeting minutes were approved as written.

Approval of Agendas - 2023 National President Chris Pelkola Lee

The Agenda and Consent Agenda were distributed prior to the meeting. The consent agenda was approved without objection.

President Chris Pelkola Lee reminded the attendees of who makes up the National Governing Board.

Election of two (2) Governing Board Members to the 2024 Executive Committee

There were five (5) members who declared by the cutoff date:

Kim Sitton (ID) Shaun Pinkston (IL) Shauna Huisman (AZ) Charmaine Hickey (FL) Sabrina Brown (CA) Prior to election President elect Kerri Harnett announced that Sabrina Brown (CA) was appointed for a three (3) year term to the Executive Committee. (2024 thru 2026)

The remaining candidates spoke for 2 minutes each in the order listed. Each to address the same questions.

- Why do you aspire to this position?
- What contribution do you hope to make as an Executive Committee member?

Rank choice voting will be used for the election by utilizing Election Buddy and a test vote was done prior to the election.

Vote #1

Charmain Hickey	22 votes	38%
Shauna Huisman	17 votes	29%
Kim Sitton	15 votes	26%
Shaun Pinkston	4 votes	7%

Total Votes: 58

Abstentions: 0

Vote #2 (Runoff)

Shauna Huisman	30 votes	52%
Charmaine Hickey	28 votes	48%

Total Votes: 58

Abstentions: 0

Shauna Huisman was elected to the Executive Committee

Vote #3

Charmaine Hickey	33 votes	58%
Kim Sitton	19 votes	33%
Shaun Pinkston	5 votes	9%

Total Votes: 57

Abstentions: 1

Charmaine Hickey was elected to the Executive Committee

Election of two (2) Candidate Review Committee members and two (2) alternates from the current Governing Board

Since no candidates declared before the deadline, nominations were taken from the floor.

President Chris Pelkola Lee reminded the members of who can serve on the Candidate Review Committee. It was also explained that if someone was nominated, they needed to be present to accept the nomination.

Vote #4

Shaun Pinkston(IL)	18	33%
Ana Ferguson(MD)	17	31%
Sheryl Hunter(TX)	7	13%
Chelsea Cain(MI)	7	13%
Cassandra McCrory(GA)	4	7%
Amber Johnson(NC)	2	4%

Total Votes: 55

Abstentions: 3

Spoiled Ballot: 1

Vote #5 (Runoff)

Ana Ferguson(MD)	30	55%
Shaun Pinkston(IL)	25	45%

Abstentions: 4

Ana Ferguson was elected to the Candidate Review Committee

Vote #6

Shaun Pinkston(IL)	30	55%
Sheryl Hunter(TX)	9	16%
Chelsea Cain(MI)	7	13%
Cassandra McCrory(GA)	5	9%
Amber Johnson(NC)	4	7%

Total Votes: 55

Abstentions: 4

Vote #7

Sheryl Hunter(TX)	19	35%
Chelsea Cain(MI)	16	29%
Cassandra McCrory(GA)	12	22%
Amber Johnson(NC)	8	15%

Total Votes: 55

Abstentions: 4

Vote #8 (Runoff)

Chelsea Cain(MI)	28	51%
Sheryl Hunter(TX)	27	49%

Total Votes: 55

Abstentions: 4

Chelsea Cain was elected as an Alternate to the Candidate Review Committee

Vote #9

Sheryl Hunter(TX)	29	54%
Amber Johnson(NC)	13	24%
Cassandra McCrory(GA)	12	22%

Total Votes: 54

Abstentions: 5

Sheryl Hunter was elected as an Alternate to the Candidate Review Committee

Financial Report

Treasurer Cheryl Keller summarized the 2022 End of Year financials and gave an overview of the 1st quarter financials.

There were no questions on the financial reports so they will be filed for audit.

Proposed Bylaws Change

President Chris Pelkola Lee indicated that the proposed Bylaws changes were distributed 30 days previous by Special Email to all members. She also made note of specific compliance notes that are on page 6 of the agenda.

First Vice President Tammy Noll-Adams present Motion #1 on behalf of the Executive Committee. "Annual membership dues for all Active and National Affiliate members of the Women's Council shall be \$140.00 \$170.00 plus Local and State Network dues when applicable."

Treasurer Cheryl Keller was asked to give rationale for this change.

At this time 54 voters were present. A standing vote was held. 46 in favor, 6 against. Motion passed.

Other Business

President Chris Pelkola Lee recognized the Women's Council Liaisons to NAR. One Liaison were in attendance and gave a report on their respective committee.

• Sheila Moran(TX) Business Issues

Next Governing Board meeting Thursday, November 16, 2023 12pm Anaheim.

No other announcements or further business.

Meeting adjourned at 5:38pm